Leev

How To Turbo Your Non-Turbo 626 Or Mx6* (Parts And Install)

16 posts in this topic

****Disclaimer Part 1****

I am not a certified mechanic, or an automotive expert. I am simpy someone that has ONLY owned an F2 or F2T engine car, and because of that, I happen to know a lot about it, and how to mess with it. Everything I have done is an experiment, a guess or an outcome of hours sometimes days or weeks or months of research. Multiply this by 6 years and I start to think I'm pretty good at it. I could always be wrong, forget something, or need to be corrected.

****Disclaimer Part 2***

If you question the health of your engine (leaks, drips, shakes, shimmys, bumps, knocks, pings, pongs, creaks, squeaks, squeals, rattles, taps, ticks, tocks, dings, dongs, unexplained smells or smoke DO NOT TURBO, FIX IT FIRST DUMMY!!!

Hello!

So you have a non-turbo 88-92 Mazda 626, MX-6, or ford Probe, and want to swap the turbo parts from a GT to make your car faster and cooler.

Lets begin with what a GT F2T comes with that makes it a GT, (not necessarily what you NEED, but simply what makes it different than the F2)

-Engine block (same shape and design only difference is extra nipples near the turbo for oil and coolant feeds/returns and different piston compression ratio)

-Oil dipstick

-Cylinder head (exhaust valves are heat treated, that's it)

-Turbo, exhaust manifold, EGR pipe, intake pipes, charge pipes, intercooler

-GT injectors (square plug for 88-89, oval plug for 90-92)

-GT ECU (computer unit), that means the engine harness is different as well

-Distributor, ignition system

-Knock sensor (back of block)

-Oil cooler, has coolant lines running to a sandwich plate the oil filter screws onto

-Flywheel, clutch, c/v axles, transmission (all different from a non-turbo) and that includes engine and transmission mounts

-Front wheel hubs (to support the different spline count on the GT c/v axles