Greenbaypackers

Hole In Maf Or What?

17 posts in this topic

Hey im new to this awesome form looks to be very helpful. Anyway there might be a hole in my MAF i kinda looks like a crack but sorta looks like its ment to be there? its on the right side right under the black cover were it plugs in. it feels like air is being sucked through it witch there is no filtration. my Check engine light came on and went and got my code read and it was my IAC valve code. it says something about checking for vacume leaks the MAF it self and the IAC valve i cant reamber. its been stalling lately when coming up to a stoplight then turning green befor i stop and trying to accelerate and when i try to get out of my own way turning onto a road. hope some people can tell me how to fix this. Thanks everyone

Is that a hole to the left of the torx screw? That hole should not be there. Recommend you unbolt it and see what kind of defect it is and take another picture if possible. If that's a hole it could be allowing unmetered air into the system. Basically a vacuum leak directly after the MAF.

I covered the hole with the metal ductape the engine light went off but today it comeback on and the tape is still on there good. My dad bought the whole system at a junkyard for 54$ from a 96 and I took my car to auto tech today ( i go to a tech school for construction but they have automotive class) and the code reader did not read the code? Weird hope it's not a different code any ideas why the light would come back on and start to stall and sputter again?