RacerX

'93 626 Lemon Racer

1,616 posts in this topic

Just like someone else on this forum, I recently purchased a '93 626 DX 2.0L with 5 spd to prep and race in the 24 Hours of Lemons. You can track the build and race here:

http://metroplex-not-so-mini.blogspot.com/

Feel free to reply with suggestions for prepping the car for the event. I am new to the 626 but I found this car and believe it's a good platform for this event. Mazda builds solid, simple, and reliable cars (when Ford isn't messing that up).

My goal for the build is to lighten the car, improve braking, improve the tired old suspension and steering components, and make the motor more likely to finish. The good news is the clutch in this car is pretty new and grabs confidently, the motor seems to be well maintained, and everything that makes the car go is largely functional. The downside is the suspension and steering components are very tired and worn. But, those can be updated out of the $500 budget. They are considered safety items. So this little hotrod is getting all new rotors, calipers, pads, lines, drums, shoes, wheel cylinders, lower control arms, ball joints, tie-rod ends, and wheel bearings.

I have a little budget for an upgrade. The goal is to put a set of Sachs Super Touring Struts on the car. But, I need to sell some parts to make that happen. Anyone need any of the following functional items?

Air Bag $20.00

Complete A/C system $40.00

Spare tire $25.00

Grill $20.00

Driver Glass $20.00

Passenger Glass $20.00

Seat Belts $20.00

Climate Controls, $20.00

Plenum, Heater Core,

and Blower

I don't really need the money, but I do need the budget for the struts. So, If you dig the thought of a competitve 626 at the 24 Hours of LeMons, send me a PM for a part or two. I need to sell them all.