My Fsde --> Klde/klze Swap Experience.

First off, i am gonna tell a bit about myself and my car, for future reference, and for people who may not have seen it or read my posts.

I am 25 years old, with a masters degree in Industrial Design. I have no education or experience what so ever from mechanical work other than what i have taught myself from reading the Internet and trying things myself. The engine swap was much simpler than i had expected. It it basically a big LEGO set :D My car is an European 1.8l FP engine, with the rare Automoderna body kit. A link to my picture thread can be found here.

Since the car looks awesome (at least thats my personal opinion) its ashamed that it can be outraced by almost anything with 4 wheels (even a Prius) so a new engine was required to get the performance to match the looks.

1 - Documentation

The biggest problem i met, was Norwegian governments, and the traffic safety laws that put strict regulations on modifying your car. In order to get an engine swap approved, you need to be able to document that your car (chassi) was delivered or can handle the power of your new engine. You also need to document what kind of modifications you have to do to the rest of the car in order to get it safe enough to road use. This documents have to come either from Mazda (the official national importer), or any independent test facility such as TÜV and Dekra in Germany. So unless Mazda can supply this paperwork, its gonna cost you a lot.

My papers came from Ray Crowe at Malloy Mazda, and even if its not exactly whats required, i managed to convince the officer in charge of my application that it was enough. And i was allowed to start the swap.

2 - A donor car?

Before you start the swap there is a few things you might want to do make the swap as easy as possible.