23 replies to this topic

MarineE6

MarineE6

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Car: 98 Mazda 626, 2.5 V6 DOHC, Auto
Hey Guys
Newbie here! I got a 98 626 2.5 v6 DOHC. Both Gaskets are leaking. I was wondering if I should replace all gaskets I come across, or hold fast to the cliche' "if it aint broke don't fix it". If I do need to replace anything, can anyone lead me to a good price on a gasket set or what not. If I can avoid replaceing anything other than the VCG, how can I tell if other gaskets need replaceing. Been fixing my own cars since I started driving , and being 29y I have had everything from CV joints to Oil Changes(brakes are in there somewhere and one VCG without the 626 mess on the back VC, LOL). I don't know how long the car was sitting on the lot before I bought it in 2010. But, the word was that the owner babied it. The dealer is a well trusted guy, so I believe him to a certain extent. Oh, and before I forget, can anyone give me a time estimate on a DIY job. Thanks guys!

djdevon3

djdevon3

Veteran

• 12,518 posts
  • Car: 1995 626 LX 2.0L Manual Swap
You can get a set from RockAuto. If you're valve cover gaskets are leaking then they are broke so that cliche' doesn't hold up. Broken valve cover gaskets means the PCV system might not work properly. As long as it's a minor leak probably nothing to be concerned about but you do want to get them fixed.

http://www.rockauto....&parttype=10710

Welcome to Mazda626.net MarineE6!

AUDIOADDICT02

AUDIOADDICT02

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Car: 1994 626 2.5L V6 auto
I got these, seem to work just fine(also used black rtv sealant): http://www.ebay.com/...=item3f05f27943

Did it in a few hours, so it's not very difficult, just make sure you don't break any vaccum hoses/fittings when pulling off the intake manifold, also don't overtighten bolts as they break too easily.

XeNoMoRpH

XeNoMoRpH

Mazda 626.net

• Admin
  • 5,280 posts
  • Car: 1988 626 GT ----- 1995 MX-6 LS