Jump to content

Photo

Code P0442


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
one9292nv

one9292nv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Car: 1999 2.0 auto.
The check engine light came on today and the wife took the car to Autozone and this code came back.
p0442
evap controll system(small leak)
Its the 4 cylinder in our 99 626.
Can anyone direct me in the right direction of this under the hood?
Thanks. Shane

#2
slow_motion626

slow_motion626

    Senior Member

  • Premium Member
  • 4,392 posts
  • Location: Baton Rouge, LA
  • Car: 96' Mazda 626 2.0L ATX
A code P0442 most likely means one or more of the following has happened:

* A loose or improperly affixed gas cap
* A non-conforming gas cap (i.e. not factory/original brand)
* A small leak/hole in a fuel vapor hose/tube
* Other small leak in EVAP system
* Faulty vent o-ring seal

With a P0442, the most common repair is to:

* Remove and reinstall the gas cap, clear the codes, and drive for a day and see if the codes come back.
* Otherwise, replace the gas cap, or
* Inspect the EVAP system for cuts/holes in tubes/hoses

#3
one9292nv

one9292nv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Car: 1999 2.0 auto.
Thanks...............I will try them.

#4
one9292nv

one9292nv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Car: 1999 2.0 auto.
And one more thing..............how do you clear codes?

#5
slow_motion626

slow_motion626

    Senior Member

  • Premium Member
  • 4,392 posts
  • Location: Baton Rouge, LA
  • Car: 96' Mazda 626 2.0L ATX

And one more thing..............how do you clear codes?


reset the ecu by disconnecting the positive cable on the battery hold the brake down for 30 seconds to drain all excess power reconnect the battery cable

#6
Mazda626_2001

Mazda626_2001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Location: Central Jersey
  • Car: 2001 Mazda626, L4, auto

And one more thing..............how do you clear codes?


As an alternative, the light will turn off automatically after a few trips if you have fixed the problem, even though you have not cleared the codes.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users