• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

linda

linda

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Car: 97 mazda 2.5 auto
I have a 97 mazda 626 2.5 engine.. i am new at this so please be kind lol.. i took it to the mechanic today because for some reason it is making a tapping noise . They said they thought it was coming from the tension on the timing belt . I had timing belt replaced 2 yrs ago .. said it might have trash in it and that to replace it all would be 425.00. it would take 3 hrs to fix ,so i opted for change oil to synthetic oil and add moa to see if that would clean it out .. i drove it home and it has not stopped the problem yet . please if any one has any suggestions i would be grateful

Trebuchet03

Trebuchet03

Veteran

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
  • Car: Sorry Guys... I've gone German (2.0 Jetta)
what was the weight of oil used?

can you locate specifically where the tapping noise is comming from (ie valve covers, timing belt cover, etc.)?

hominid7

hominid7

• Premium Member
  • 220 posts
  • Car: 2001 626 ES-V6 ATX:White w/Tan Leather
If it is a regular tap-tap-tap-tap-tap that continues and goes throughout all speeds, it is not likely the timing belt. I would think it's the valves sticking. Your synthetic oil may make it go away in time.

The timing belt tensioner sounds like a somewhat "slaping" sound, and possibly come and go from time to time.

A friction gear knocking sound is more of a knocking that ONLY happens below 2000 RPM.

Pacman123

Pacman123

Advanced Member

• Premium Member
  • 657 posts
  • Car: 1995 Ford Telstar TX5
Id say very much that it is your hydraulic lifters. Particularly on the No. 1 cylinder. I have the same problem. I had it ever since i bought the car, and even with synthetics it still does it :s
Oh well, you learn to live with it i guess. lol

cooluser23s

cooluser23s

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 653 posts
  • Car: '99 Mazda 626 V6 2.5l DOHC Auto